God’s Shower

Showerhead

There was no hot water today. At first I thought that I might have forgotten to pay my gas bill, but I recalled that I did. Do I bathe in the frigid water or should I forego a shower? I decided that it was the prudent thing to shower especially before Church. As I hopped in I immediately regretted my decision as the pangs of the ice cold water splashed on my chest. I gasped and frantically pointed the shower head away from me. Temporarily alleviated from the seemingly sub-zero temperatures I quickly washed myself and jumped right back out. “Phew!” I thought. “I am glad that is over!”

Throughout the day I would sporadically check the hot water as if it would magically come back to life. It wasn’t until ten minutes ago that my hot water was restored. As the hot water slipped between my fingers I wondered whether humans are like hot water to God. In the book of Revelation 3:16 the word of the Lord says, “So, because you are lukewarm-neither hot nor cold- I am about to spit you out of my mouth.” What if followers of God who have become cold or even lukewarm in their pursuit of Him are as repulsive as a cold shower. I know that God would not abandon us altogether, but much like I did this morning in the shower, perhaps he would only dwell with us as long as necessary. To be on fire for God must be like a relaxing hot shower to Him. I want to be as soothing and comforting to God as He is to me. I want him to dwell in me and for that to happen I must light the fire within myself. Now every time I need a reminder of why I must pursue God with my whole heart I will take a cold shower. Hopefully, I won’t have to do it very often.

Leave a Reply

