5/1/2015

This morning was a rainy one. I awoke to the usual sounds of tropical birds and the background sound of pouring rain. Aureni called my attention to what sounded like a small child shouting, “Mom, Mom, Mom!” She informed me that the culprit of the shouts was actually a clever parrot. A parrot who learned to say, ma, grandma and various other phrases. Under the close watch of Aureni, I made my first tapioca which is a type of starch-filled root and staple food of Brazil. This “Brazilian quesadilla”, as I have aptly named it, consists of tapioca  cooked like a tortilla, filled with queijo (cheese), and sprinkled with shredded coco. If this doesn’t make your mouth water, than you certainly will when you hear how it is dipped in honey! Muito delicioso!

My new starch filled treasure.

My new starch filled treasure.

After breakfast I grabbed my umbrella and departed for Escola da Biblia. Many of the citizens were waiting under cover of the buildings for the steady rain to pass. As for myself, who knows nothing of rain or its behavior, continued merrily on my way to the church.

IMG_1489

Misusing my umbrella for a selfie.

I discovered that I haven’t the slightest idea of how to use an umbrella. I thwacked five or so Brasileros on my way with my oversized umbrella. I even entrapped a man against the wall of a corner building as I waited to cross the street. Blissfully unaware, I heard the stifled plea for air from behind my umbrella that I had positioned horizontally, propped on my shoulder. “Desculpe! (Sorry!)”

Once I was sufficiently finished playing in the rain I arrived at EDB. I joined in some of the English classes form LST and watched as they skillfully taught English to their students by reading scripture from the book of Luke, and Acts.

Felipe explaining quite well in English what the book of Luke means to him.

Felipe explaining quite well in English what the book of Luke means to him.

Briannon discussing the book of Acts with her LST student.

Briannon discussing the book of Acts with her LST student.

Jonathan rationalizing things with numbers as mechanical engineers do best!

Jonathan rationalizing things with numbers as mechanical engineers do best!

I also conversed with as many people as possible around the building. I watched as Josh and João conducted business with no horseplay whatsoever.

No monkey business here between Josh and Joao.

No monkey business here between Josh and Joao.

Once I wore out everyone’s ears at EDB with my conversation I decided to head home and recharge. Tonight, I tried to relax and allow my circadian rhythm to reset. Brazilians are night owls I have discovered. My US lifestyle of 6a-11p is thrown all out of proportion! THANKS EVERTON! jajaja Anyhow, I am going to turn in early tonight to get some much needed zzz’s.

Ate Amanha!

Leave a Reply

